The Best Breakfast Bars You Will Ever Have!

IMG_8372[1]

I absolutely love when things are simple and straight forward–especially recipes! I want all the ingredients to be in my kitchen ready to go. Let’s be honest, how often does that actually happen? Almost never, huh? Well, that’s about to change after you take a look at my next recipe: Almond Butter Breakfast Bars–using basic health food ingredients. If you are a health nut like me, you will have every single one of these ingredients in your cupboard and if you don’t, I will give you a great substitute!

I know eating healthy can get expensive so I wanted to share with you where I get all of my ingredients from: Vitacost.com. It’s an online super store and they sell everything health related: food, vitamins, supplements, protein bars and powders, diet products and even beauty and personal care. It’s the cheapest I have found and you can get everything in one big haul that’s delivered the next day!

RECIPE
Oat Layer:
  • 1/2 Cup Old Fashion Oats
  • 1/4 Cup Oat Flour (oats a in blender or food processor on high until finely ground)
  • 1/4 Cup Protein Powder of Choice (I used a whey peanut protein)
  • 1/4 Cup Ground Flax Seed
  • 1/4 Cup plus 1 tbsp. Almond Butter (or nut butter of choice)
  • 2 tbsp. Organic Honey (or agave/maple syrup)
  • 1 tbsp. Water
Chocolate Layer:
  • 1 tbsp. Coconut Oil
  • 1 tbsp. Organic Honey (or agave/maple syrup)
  • 1.5 tbsp. Cocoa Powder
  • Cocoa Nibs for sprinkling (optional)
Directions:

Oat layer: In a bowl mix together bar ingredients. Press dough evenly into a small loaf pan lined with parchment paper. Chocolate layer: Melt coconut oil and honey together. Add cocoa powder and mix until combined. Spread a thin layer of chocolate over the oat layer and sprinkle with cocoa nibs. Place in the freezer for an hour to harden. Cut into 4-6 bars and enjoy!

Leave a comment!

